Distribution of information to media outlets and responding to media inquiries concerning agricultural and Farm Bureau issues and activities is the aim of this department. News releases are distributed on a statewide or local basis. Interviews with producers or Farm Bureau leaders can be arranged.

This department is responsible for all Federation audio and video needs including training videos, documentaries, radio spots, etc.

Video news releases are sent on a regular basis to TV news departments across the state and are designed to be used in newscasts or local talk shows.

A half-hour TV show called Farm Bureau’s Voices of Agriculture is produced to be aired on the RFD-TV network. RFD-TV is available on the Dish Network, channel 9409, and DirecTV, channel 345. Voices of Agriculture’s goal is to highlight Mississippi agriculture to the rest of the nation.

The Farm Bureau website and is also created and maintained by the personnel in this department.

Headshot of Jon Kalahar.

Jon M. Kalahar, APR
Communications and Public Relations

Mark Morris
Communications Specialist

Communications Committee 

Shannon Rogers – (601) 517-1901 – Chair

Bill Ryan Tabb – 662-719-0296

Kevin Rhodes – (601) 942-4072

Tripp Thomas – 662-934-8395

Josh Miller – 662-907-3014 – Vice Chair

Rita Seward – 251-510-5557

Larry Jefcoat – 601-433-6361

Matt McGowin – 601-938-3045

Brad Judson – 662-341-4157

Donald Gant – (662) 719-7655

Ted Kendall – 601-940-2524

Reggie Magee – 601-620-9364



Mike McCormick 601-573-4290

Mark Morris 601-906-4096

Justin Ferguson 662-720-4238

Jon Kilgore 601-278-3809