Young Farmers & Ranchers

The Young Farmers and Ranchers program is designed to develop young people into the leaders that will someday guide Farm Bureau. Educating young farmers about the purpose and function of Farm Bureau and providing opportunities for them to participate in the program structure of Farm Bureau will prepare them to assume roles of leadership in the organization.

The YF&R program is designed for younger members, ages 18 – 35, who share an interest in improving themselves and agriculture. They are encouraged to use their own knowledge and the information gained about Farm Bureau to help formulate policies and programs that can lead to solutions to their problems.

Each year, the Young Farmer & Rancher Department sponsors the YF&R Achievement Award. County winners compete at the district level and district winners compete at the state level. The state winner represents Mississippi in the American Farm Bureau YF&R Contest.

The YF&R Department also sponsors the YF&R Excellence in Agriculture Award each year. This contest is designed to recognize the accomplishments of contestants that derive the majority of their income from efforts other than agriculture but are involved in farming and Farm Bureau.

One of the most interesting and rewarding programs sponsored by the YF&R department in the Discussion Meet where young people get together to discuss issues and problems affecting their way of life. The deadline to register for the YF&R Discussion Meet is November 2.

In addition, the YF&R Committee hosts a Collegiate Discussion Meet each year. Registration is currently open for the YF&R Collegiate Discussion Meet to be held on October 18 at Mississippi State University. Contact your Regional Manager for more information. The deadline to register is September 24.

The Young Farmers and Ranchers program also sponsors scholarships for deserving students. The 2019 application will be released in January 2019.

For more information contact Samantha Laird at 601-573-7913.

2018 Young Farmers and Ranchers State Committee

Term Expires  2018
Term Expires  2019

Region 1

Charles & Kathryn Anne Danna

Walt and Ashley Rambo

Region 2

Matthew and Kayla Poe

Adam and Brittany Wright

Region 3

Eric and Ann Carol Tirey

Billy and Brittany Rodgers

Region 4

Billy and Cala Tabb

David and Kelli Russell

Region 5

Brian and Ashley Rhodes

Ben and Amanda Berry

Region 6

Evan and Carla Lawrence

Sean and Morgan McDonald

Region 7

Sam and Makenzi Blakeney

Ross and Lacey Smith

Region 8

Stephen Parker

Taylor Hickman

Young Farmer Achievement Award Winner

David and Rebekkah Arant

Discussion Meet Winner

Cobie Rutherford

Young Farmer Excellence in Ag Award Winner

Austin Smith

2018 State Young Farmer and Rancher Officers

Billy Tabb – Chair

Brian Rhodes  – 1st Vice Chair

Matthew Poe – 2nd Vice Chair

Makenzi Blakeney  – Secretary